FORUMS
Sign in to follow this  
Kuroko

Frost worse than Unholy?

Hello everyone, I decided to create a DK as my dps main character and so I decided to look at the guides here in IcyVeins however for my surprise in both guides (Frost and Unholy DK) it says that Frost spec performs worse than Unholy so I wanted to ask if this is a fact or it's all up to my skill with the character because since I started playing WoW I have noticed that most of the performance of a character is all up to the skill of the one using it and not a matter of an "OP class".

Hello everyone, I decided to create a DK as my dps main character and so I decided to look at the guides here in IcyVeins however for my surprise in both guides (Frost and Unholy DK) it says that Frost spec performs worse than Unholy so I wanted to ask if this is a fact or it's all up to my skill with the character because since I started playing WoW I have noticed that most of the performance of a character is all up to the skill of the one using it and not a matter of an "OP class".

This believe it or not is a more complicated question then you think. A Lot comes down to gear, rotation, talent choice, and personal skill. That being said assuming all are equal in simulations unholy is currently ahead of frost. 

now that being said, Sims are good for determining stat weights and seeking micro alterations in talent choices to improve dps. All classes are viable with only a couple thousand k dps keeping them apart. Play what you like and you'll do fine. 

Assuming equal skill at both specs (and same gear of course), Unholy is currently better than Frost. On single target fights, the difference is not too big of an issue (unless you're in one of those ultra hardcore raiding guilds) and you can play whatever you want. On AoE fights however, Unholy is outright better.