Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Transistor

[Guardian] Pulverize Use

13 posts in this topic

Hello! I am new to bear tanking, and while looking up the guide I got confused over a minor point.

Basically: if I have 6 seconds left on my pulverize buff, mangle is on cooldown, my enemy has 3 stacks of lacerate, and thrash doesn't need to be refreshed -- do I cast lacerate or pulverize? I'm not sure if it's better to just delete the stacks or to let them roll as much as possible, keeping the pulverizes to a minimum.

Thanks in advance!

Edited by Transistor

Just spam lacerate, it's your filler spell when you have nothing to do. 

You can refresh pulverize at 3.6s without a loss.  

Pulverize hits pretty hard, but the thing is, you run the risk of missing a Lacerate tick that could reset the cooldown on Mangle - and Rage generation trumps simply using your highest DPS ability because it's available.

I thought it was on lacerate hits, not ticks now?

I thought it was on lacerate hits, not ticks now?

I believe you are correct. The tooltip says that the ability, and not the DoT, now has a chance to reset the cooldown on Mangle. Nonetheless the advice remains the same; getting off as many uses of Mangle as possible should be your goal, as Rage is key to survival, and using Pulverize more often than needed detracts from that.

Using Pulverize is a slight dps loss because of two things:

- You lose your Lacerate stacks, which have to be built up again

- You waste a global that could've been spent on Lacerate which could've reset the cooldown of the much harder hitting Mangle

Using Pulverize also reduces your rage generation by a tiny bit and the amount of Ursa Major stacks you get as well.

That is for single target situations. In multi target situations, the effect is much bigger.

If you decide to go with the talent, it is not high priority to keep 100% uptime, if you're not taking any damage.

Edited by Shedim