FORUMS
Sign in to follow this  
Damien

Healing Guide

Great guide, although I found the section on key binding a little discouraging, for lack of a better word. I've been playing for 7 years as a healer (mainly as a shaman and druid) and I learned to play as a clicker, my husband however binds most of his spells and has tried to get me to play with binds. But as the old saying goes, you can't teach an old dog new tricks and for the life of me I just can't get used to it. I click my target, click my spell and move on to the next target, etc. all in the blink of a GCD.

In your guide you state that "Having an excellent reaction time is a key requirement of good healing, and this cannot be accomplished without the use of keybinds." This is a very biased statement, obviously written by someone who binds. Yes, excellent reaction time is a key requirement of good healing, but binding is not the be-all and end-all. I top the heal meters on a regular basis as a clicker, and when most people find that out they are somehow even more impressed with my healing. If I were new to healing and a clicker looking for guidance I would be very discouraged reading this section. You make it sound as if those of us that never learned to bind can never be healers. And maybe some of the younger players can learn to bind, but some of us more "mature" players would become overwhelmed at the thought of having to memorize all our spells on the keyboard. There are plenty of talented players out there that are clickers, please don't deter them from healing with your bad choice of words. Binding is NOT the only option.

Aside from that little statement, I think the guide is great with plenty of details to get people started in their journey to healing the wonderful World of Warcraft.

• Like 2

Rhyannon, agreed. The guide could say something like: "Most of people prefer to bind keys and use addons to improve the reaction time..."

But i think you are one in ten thousand.

Tyrendorf