FORUMS
Kokuendan

"Rank" VS "Skill"

"How much the skill level of a player is related to his rank?"

This is a question that is pretty much haunting me since I started playing the game 4 months ago, it seems that having average skills and netdecking can carry you very far if you have enough time and I feel that the game as it is can be mostly draw and match-up based, so it's hard to me to judge a  "good" player as opposed to a "bad" one.

To worsen the situation, Youtube Comments. That moment when an argument inevitably starts and insults fly and I start seeing like "Rank 20 loser (in truth, they use a word that you can guess but I don't remember if the forum allows it so I'm not risking)" but at times the mentioned rank gets up as far as 10, people saying that Legend is easy and you get "at least to" Rank 5, and me having problem to get to Rank 10 doesn't exactly boost my confidence.

Then the Server part appears where people start saying NA is easy, EU and Asia is where you find the challenge and a whole other pile of stuff.

Last thing, I feel that since I started the level got raised quite a lot, I remember ranking from 25 to 20 was easy the first time, but now I actually had problems (admittedly it was Wild, but I still faced Control Warrior at 24, and I spectated C'thun Druid VS Aggro Shaman at 23).

So to sum it up, how much of a connection resides between "Skill" and "Rank" and at what Rank can you roughly consider yourself a "good" player?

• Like 1

Those players in comment section who say that legend is easy usually haven't got past rank 5. The main difficulty in reaching legend is that rank 5 onward doesn't have win streak, so you have to win over 50% of games, and the progress slows down significantly. You have to be in the better half of players who got to rank 1, which isn't easy itself, to get to legend. Legend IS hard.