FORUMS
Sign in to follow this  
Krysiz

Hunter leveling BM Vs MM

Hi all,

I just started playing again, career hunter player.

I read the guides and started leveling 100-110 as a MM hunter but admittedly am a bit confused.

The leveling guide says to run MM because, among other reasons, the healing synergy w/ the artifact allows you to to have to worry little about health. I found this to be true, I got to 103 in my first day back and health was never really a concern.

Due to the nature of the Marksmanship artifact, it is recommended to level as Marksmanship. Whenever you kill an enemy, the cooldown of Exhilaration is reduced by 30 seconds, which allows you to use Exhilaration almost constantly when leveling, and even more so when you make larger pulls. This makes Marksmanship an incredible leveling spec.

It is, with the right amount of traits (13 traits and up), better for almost all Mythic+ content due to its high AoE damage and consistency. It is also generally considered a better spec for outdoor world content (such as world quests). Thus it is recommended for serious raiders to put about 13 traits into the Beast Mastery artifact, before focusing on getting the Marksmanship artifact leveled up. You can perform these steps in any order.

Those two quotes from the leveling guide and BM guide respectively are what confused me. It clearly states MM is the best to level with due to Exhilaration. But then says BM is better for all mythic content and also for outdoor world content (which leveling/questing is outdoor world content is it not?)

Since I will likely be doing more world content and dungeons -> mythic than I will be doing full raids, it seems like BM is the better option for a w hile. It seems a bit conflicting.

Should add that from a personal playstyle perspective it doesn't matter to me at all. I played hunter A LOT and while the entire skill system is completely different, it was like riding a bike as far as logging in after not playing since WoTLK.