FORUMS
Sign in to follow this  
nkooo

New mage looking for advice (dummy log)

Hello,

I started playing mage in Legion and been running some HC dungeons to get a hang of it. I wonder if anyone can take a look at my Greater Construct dummy log and see if I'm doing any of this correctly. I think it's in my best interest to know all the flaws I'm making early on to get better faster. I know the dummy log might not be as good as a raid boss log but its all I can provide right now. My gear is mainly blues with ilvl of 827. Crit 51%.

Armory

Log

log #2 with 829 ilvl and 52% crit

Note: This log is with Pyromaniac and Unstable Magic although the armory might have not updated yet.

I try to go with the Icy Veins Mage DPS Guide rotation. At the start I eighter get HS with 2 casts of PB/Fireball or I force it with Fireblast after I hit HeatingUp. When on Hotstreak I pop RoP+Comb and go off with all instant casts I have. I drop second RoP pretty much after Comb. During RoP I instantly cast any Hotstreaks I get. Outside of RoP I spend Heating Ups like Fireball-Fireblast during cast-PB. Just before Comb I find myself awkwardly spamming Fireball in hopes of Hotstreak as I dont want to spend both Fireblasts and trying to savearrow-10x10.png Flame On for Comb. I also save 1 RoP charge for Comb. 

Now this is what I'm trying to do. I guess the log says what I'm actually doing. Thanks in advance for any help you can provide.

Edited by nkooo

Well looking at your logs briefly it seems that you are casting fireball too much and missing the crit windows. When I run fire Pyroblast is usually the highest damage that i have by a good %.