Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Merklynn

Holy Priest DPS - 5.4 Guide

14 posts in this topic

Dear Priests,

I have written a guide on how to play as a Holy Priest DPS spec for World of Warcraft 5.4:

http://www.michaeloglesby.com/holy-priest-dps

Some of you are probably thinking 'WTF? Holy Priest DPS? You have lost your mind mate'. I thought the same thing as well, so don't dismiss it, you'll be surprised on the results.

I have been playing Holy Priest DPS for the last three months with some great results.

Enjoy.

I've been doing holy priest dps since the beginning when it first got introduced. Great pointers. But things I would change.

Stat priority should be haste to 8085 (just like shadow) then crit and then all the haste you can get after that, prioritizing crit.

Twist of Fate is better than power infusion because of the huge uptime you can get from healing and dpsing at the same time.

While it is a strong dps class, the only thing it *shines* at is as being an atonement like dps. It's ability to heal and dps surpasses any other healing spec. If you do the normal rotation and add in CoH/PoM/Lightspring/Divine Hymn, you basically become a full dps and 1/2 to 3/4 healer. It makes you an absurdly powerful 3rd healer in fights you don't need the full 3rd healer.

1 person likes this

Well, i gotta say, i tried this out on a training dummy and got like 80k dps(530ish ilvl), its nowhere near a full dps

So I made a shadow offspec and a holy offspec and target dummied for about 2 minutes each and got Shadow: 132k dps, and holy 119k dps.  Considering that mastery is a dead stat for holy and not for shadow, I take this to mean that yes, holy is a viable dps spec but with severe gear restrictions.

Can we get an armory and some logs?

1 person likes this

What is it that causes holy to do so much more than disc?