FORUMS
Sign in to follow this  
Gruson

Trinket Proc question

Hi guys,

I have tried looking around google for this, not sure how to search for it exactly.

Basically I am wondering about how trinket procs work with casting spells.  Lets say I have 1s left on wush, and I start casting a chaos bolt, if the trinket proc falls off before it leaves my hands OR hits the target do I not get the proc to affect that casted chaos bolt?  Is the trinket proc affecting spells that hit the target at time of proc, or is it affecting spells that are cast AND leaving the hands of caster while the trinket is up?

Also in line with this, from an affliction standpoint I was wondering with channel spells and trinket procs as well.  Same scenario I have wush up with 1s and I start channeling MG.  if the trinket falls off I am assuming the mg will retain the strength when i started channeling it (during the trinket proc)?

Sorry if these are fairly common knowledge questions, I just started playing WoW and have been raiding now for about 2months ^^

thanks for any help you can give

Fundamental Rule about casts and DoTs:

Cast spells' damage are ALWAYS calculated at the EXECUTION OF THE CAST.  When Chaos Bolt's cast time reaches 0.0 and leaves your hand, it snap shots damage.  Travel time is irrelevant.

DoT spells' damage are ALWAYS calculated at the TIME OF APPLICATION.  No matter what, when your DoTs are applied, they are snapshotted. 

It doesn't matter how long trinkets have or what have you.  If you start casting a CB with 1 second left of a trinket, you ain't getting it buffed.  If your CB gets casted and your trinket falls off while it's on its way to your target's face, it'll hit like it had the trinket up. 

I'm not 100% on MG and DS, as they are channeled, but I BELIEVE they update dynamically.  Regardless, the damage of MG and DS are so small, the modification to them is largely irrelevant.