FORUMS
Sign in to follow this  
lynx

Resto gemming question

I'm new to resto and don't understand something, why all restos I see gem with pure int? Aren't hybrids better?

If I'm going for the crit build, by the simple logic that 2crit > 1int the 80int+160crit hybrid should be better than 160int.

Or my assumption that 2crit > 1int is wrong?

It may just be the resto's YOU see or are inspecting.  I gem hybrid on my resto as do most that I see.  The two "consultants" if you will, to the resto class guide here at IcyVeins, Zetian and Sonie (two of the best resto shamans in the world by the way) both gem hyrbid or even straight secondary stats with yellow crit gems when they can.   You cannot always just go off a few shamans you inspect.  

Crit is currently our strongest stat after the most attainable haste breakpoint (very important nowadays with how good rushing stream and HR are for us as well as the LMG proc).  Mastery can still be very strong in progression environments as opposed to the rng that can occur with crit, but the fact that crit also doubles as a mana regen stat gives it that extra boost this tier.  It allows us to not carry absurd spirit levels, further buffing SP and secondaries.  The other slight problem with mastery, even in progression environments is that a lot of other healer classes have some sort of absorb mechanic or strong HoT mechanics.  By the time you get your GHW heal off on a person with a rejuv or soothing mists, your mastery buff to your heal as already diminished.  Same logic goes to playing with disc priests...shields prevent a lot of players from getting low enough for our mastery to really pack the punch it is intended to.