FORUMS
Sign in to follow this  
StormDagger

25 and 0 (and counting) in casual play...

Built this Mage deck entirely from basic cards except for 2 commons.  I have been on the longest win streak since I started playing.  Though I'd share it and get some feedback.  Thanks.

2 Arcane Missiles

2 Mirror Image

2 Frostbolt

2 Bluegill Warrior

2 Kobold Geomancer

2 Novice Engineer

2 Sorcerer's Apprentice

2 Arcane Intelect

2 Dalaran Mage

2 Wolfrider

2 Fireball

2 Polymorph

2 Gnomish Inventor

2 Reckless Rocketeer

2 Flamestrike

Notes:

1) Knowing when to use your spells for minion removal or going directly to the dome is key. 

2) I play all the minions w/charge as if they were direct damage spells. 

3) Knowing which minions in a particular deck need to be 'morphed is very very important.

4) Lots of great card interactions and cool little tricks.  The Mage's Hero Power lends itself well to pumping up your minion removal. 

5) Most games are over by turn 7 but I have had a few go to death by discard. 

• Like 1

Since last night I've made a couple of adjustments.  After a long string of wins I had some bad losses where I found a couple of minor flaws with the deck. 

I replaced the Dalaran mage with the Gadgetzan Auctioneer for more late game card drawing.  While the Auctioneer is 1 more mana it provides beefier damage and helps replenish my hand in longer games.

I also replaced Mirror Image with Arcane Explosion to better handle early rushes.  While  Mirror does slow down a rush it does not stop it.  Additionally late game Explosion can buff other minion removal where the Mirror's are essentially dead cards.  I'd consider Cone of Cold in this slot but, unfortunately, I don't have any to test them out.

So the new deck list...

2 Arcane Missiles

2 Arcane Explosion

2 Frostbolt

2 Bluegill Warrior

2 Kobold Geomancer

2 Novice Engineer

2 Sorcerer's Apprentice

2 Arcane Intelect

2 Gadgetzan Auctioneer

2 Wolfrider

2 Fireball

2 Polymorph

2 Gnomish Inventor