FORUMS
Vlad

Basic Priest Deck

Guest sabermancer

Heya, I'm new to Hearthstone, and I haven't lost once with this priest deck! I even win against decks that are heavy with legendaries and rares(once won a game against someone with 5 legendaries lol). Thanks a lot for this!

I'm also loving this basic deck, with the right draw opponents are obliterated!

I do have a question though, I do not understand why 2x Zombie Chow are good (I don't have access to them yet but I still wonder). They heal the enemy with 5, but you say the deck is not focused on dealing damage? Giving the enemy 10 health seems rather...odd? (total n00b here, just been playing since this week so sorry if my question is stupid). 

The deck is not focused on dealing damage, it's focused on building a board state that your opponent can't recover from, at which point you deal all the damage you need to do in 2-3 turns. Zombie Chow helps you achieve that by being a 1 Mana 2/3, which is bigger than almost anything else your opponent can play for the same cost, this helps you dominate the board and eventually lets you start dealing damage.

Guest Kyusskid

Hello Sottle

Thanks for the guides you've written. I'm still a complete newbie to Hearthstone and have been having fun with this deck. I love the amount of card draw you can get.

I do struggle though when I can't get a foot on the board early or I don't get Smite or Pain early on to get rid of the other guy's minnions. I'll throw the grizzly taunt out when I can and give him a buff but he usually gets smashed quite quickly

Do you have any tips for digging out of a whole with this deck?

Difficulty in playing from behind is just a natural problem with Priest unfortunately, even in the top level Priest decks, you tend to struggle if you can't get on board. The reason for this essentially, is that with minions to heal, the Priest hero power doesn't really have anything to do.