FORUMS
Sign in to follow this  
Toxicus

Disc or Holy for Highmaul and beyond?

So we've had one of our players reroll Priest for our raid. We are currently attempting to figure out which of the two specs are better overall. Currently we have 2 RDruids, the Priest and a Pally that is gearing up to help our raid core.

My guild mate will want some form of information, but since I've had ZERO experience with healing, I don't even know where to start looking.

Can anyone help provide me some insight as to the pro's and con's of the two specs and which is better overall or for what types of situations?

Thanks in advance for any and all assistance.

At this moment in Highmaul both specs are completely viable.  Renew spam with CoH filler is back in a big way for Holy even without haste breakpoints.  The same thing can be said with PWS spam with Disc.  You'll look to stack as much MS>Haste as you can get as Holy and in Disc's current iteration of PWS Mastery reigns supreme.

Divine Hymn from Holy provides a strong raid CD that is more reliable to keeping less than par raiders alive.  Where Barrier is solid for a well oiled raid machine that stacks and overlaps the proper CD combination to fit the type of damage that is going out.

Let the Priest take both specs if he is not required to Shadow in raid.  Try both specs on each boss, it does not have to be during the same session, just get the feel of both.  They may prefer one over the other for the entirety of Highmaul or have a favorite for each encounter.  Both are competitive, both can top each other with proper mechanics as they apply to the spec right now.

I'm not going out on a limb by guessing that PWS will get a nerf of some sort in the future.  Blizz has said they don't want the ICC playstyle of Bubble spam only or Renew spam only to be the go to playstyle of Priests and history looks to be repeating itself.  So do not be surprise if you see some retuning early instead of waiting a month into Mythic.