FORUMS
Sign in to follow this  
Taliasha

Is SS better than Power Infusion?

Hello folks.  I am new to the forums and I just signed up today.  I have been playing a Disc Priest / Shadow dual spec for a couple of months now.  However I am still trying to understand how better to heal in raids and challenge modes.  It seems my single target healing is far better atm as a disc priest and it feels as though I can cast more quickly in this spec vs the Holy spec.  With that said, I have done several challenge mods and ran into issues the other day on the Sky Reach Challenge mode with my guildies.  On the Araknath boss I just could not keep up my tank through some of the blasts and had a hard time keeping up some of my guildies when they were in the beams.  I was told that I should be using Spirit Shell and not Power Word Solace, and that I should put Surge of Light as a talent point and not Power Infusion.  My talent points are as follows currently: Desperate Prayer, Angelic Feather, Power Word: Solace, Void Tendrils, Power Infusion, Halo, Words of Mending.

I have been reading on some of these forums that Spirit Shell isn't worth utilizing as a whole as it isn't as good as it once was in MoP.  I would be giving up increased haste and mana reduction if I give up Power Infusion for Spirit Shell.  Right now I am struggling to keep mana so I just didn't want to give one up for the other.  Surge of Light also takes away my ability to gain mana if I put it in place of Power Word: Solace which is what I use as an instant cast to gain 2% mana back as needed in fights.

I would really love to hear your thoughts and constructive Criticism and advice on these talent points.  My toon is Taliasha in WoD.  If you want to look her up on World of Warcraft to see how I am geared at the moment.  Anyway thanks for you time and look to hearing back from some of you.

Tal

If your struggling with mana, stick with power infusion and power word: solace. If they work for you thats great!