Warning It appears that you may be blocking the ads, and we are fine with it (read more here). That said, it would really be awesome if you decided to whitelist our website or make a donation :) You can also send us Bitcoins (1DEkropiHPWBmfJxogFaXQscfzhmdpTti4)!

Affliction Warlock DPS Artifact Talents/Traits and Relics (Legion 7.3.5)

Last updated on Jun 13, 2017 at 10:19 by Furty 222 comments

Table of Contents

General Information

This page shows you how to level up the Artifact and how to choose the right Relics for your Affliction Warlocks. It is updated for World of Warcraft Legion 7.3.5.

The other pages of our Affliction Warlock guide can be accessed from the table of contents on the right.

About Our Author and Reviewer

This guide has been written by Furty, who has an illustrious history in the World of Warcraft raiding scene and race for World First. He has been a member of guilds such as Serenity, Midwinter, and many more, and is currently raiding in Future. He plays most classes at the highest level. You can follow him on Twitter and watch him play on Twitch.

This guide has been reviewed and approved by Deepshades, a top raider who plays in Method; you can watch his stream on Twitch and follow him on Twitter.

1. Artifact Progression for Affliction Warlock — First 35 Points

Artifact Progression

1.1. Early Point Investment

After acquiring the starting trait,  Icon Crystalline Shadows, swing right and pick up  Icon Inherently Unstable. Head down into  Icon Sweet Souls for some extra defensive punch from Healthstones, and continue into  Icon Perdition. Grab your first Golden Trait,  Icon Wrath of Consumption, which is a good all around damage increase and a strong bonus in most situations.

1.2. Second Golden Trait

Head upwards into  Icon Hideous Corruption for additional Corruption Icon Corruption damage.  Icon Shadowy Incantations is a good overall increase. Acquire your second Golden Trait,  Icon Soul Flame, which is exceptional in farming Mythic+ and allows for some bonkers AoE if the situation is right.

1.3. Third Golden Trait

Backtrack to  Icon Inherently Unstable and head upwards, investing into  Icon Inimitable Agony, which is a very strong trait in all situations. Continue down the upper spine into  Icon Shadows of the Flesh for some more defensive utility. Acquire your final Golden Trait,  Icon Harvester of Souls, which is a nice way to round out your primary path.

1.4. Final Point Investment

Final point investment is straightforward. Pick up  Icon Drained to a Husk, which allows you to access  Icon Fatal Echoes. After this, follow the top spine towards the left, starting with  Icon Seeds of Doom. Talent into  Icon Compounding Horror before completing your Artifact traits with your final node,  Icon Long Dark Night of the Soul.

2. Patch 7.2: 35+ Trait Path for Affliction Warlock

Artifact Progression Above Level 35

Patch 7.2 has replaced the 35-54 Paragon system with several additional new traits becoming available upon acquisition of the 35th point. All of the previous Relic traits will also unlock a 4th rank, along with a new Paragon system becoming available after all traits have been filled (via Concordance of the Legionfall Icon Concordance of the Legionfall) which all additional Artifact Power will be spent on.

Detailed below is our suggested maxing order after 35 traits:

  1. Degradation of the Black Harvest Icon Degradation of the Black Harvest
  2. Winnowing Icon Winnowing
  3. Sinister Seeds Icon Sinister Seeds
  4. Rend Soul Icon Rend Soul
  5. Fourth rank of  Icon Perdition
  6. Fourth rank of  Icon Shadowy Incantations
  7. Fourth rank of  Icon Inherently Unstable
  8. Fourth rank of  Icon Inimitable Agony
  9. Fourth rank of  Icon Hideous Corruption
  10. Fourth rank of  Icon Drained to a Husk
  11. Fourth rank of  Icon Seeds of Doom
  12. Fourth rank of  Icon Long Dark Night of the Soul
  13. Fourth rank of  Icon Shadows of the Flesh
  14. Concordance of the Legionfall Icon Concordance of the Legionfall

3. Relic Priority for Affliction Warlock

All relics are very close in value for Affliction, and item level should generally be the indicator for value. No trait is worth more than 2 weapon item levels.

  1.  Icon Perdition;
  2.  Icon Shadowy Incantations;
  3. Winnowing Icon Winnowing;
  4.  Icon Inherently Unstable;
  5.  Icon Inimitable Agony;
  6.  Icon Hideous Corruption;
  7.  Icon Drained to a Husk;
  8.  Icon Seeds of Doom.

4. ChangeLog

  • 13 Jun. 2017: Added further context for artifact relic item levels.
  • 17 May 2017: Updated Relic priority.
  • 27 Mar. 2017: Added path for new 7.2 traits.
  • 13 Jan. 2017: Updated Relic priority slightly.
  • 09 Jan. 2017: Checked and confirmed for Patch 7.1.5.
  • 12 Dec. 2016: Updated Artifact path and images.
  • 29 Aug. 2016: Added.
+ show all entries - show only 10 entries
Force desktop version
Force mobile version