Warning It appears that you may be blocking the ads, and we are fine with it (read more here). That said, it would really be awesome if you decided to whitelist our website or make a donation :) You can also send us Bitcoins (1DEkropiHPWBmfJxogFaXQscfzhmdpTti4)!

Demonology Warlock DPS NetherLight Crucible Relic Paths (Legion 7.3.5)

Last updated on Oct 13, 2017 at 19:49 by Furty 273 comments

Table of Contents

General Information

This page will help you choose the right paths on your Netherlight Crucible as a a Demonology Warlocks. It is updated for World of Warcraft Legion 7.3.5. For more information, please read our Guide to the Netherlight Crucible.

The other pages of our Demonology Warlock guide can be accessed from the table of contents on the right.

About Our Author and Reviewer

This guide has been written by Furty, who has an illustrious history in the World of Warcraft raiding scene and race for World First. He has been a member of guilds such as Serenity, Midwinter, and many more, and is currently raiding in Future. He plays most classes at the highest level. You can follow him on Twitter and watch him play on Twitch.

This guide has been reviewed and approved by Not, one of the best Demonology Warlocks and a respected theorycrafter. He raids in Strawberry Puppy Kisses. You can watch him on Twitch or YouTube and you can follow him on Twitter. He is also the owner and editor of Lock One Stop Shop, a website dedicated to Warlocks.

1. General Optimization Advice for Demonology Warlock

Netherlight Crucible

Optimizing through the Netherlight Crucible is straightforward; you are offered 2 initial paths, Shadow and Holy, and you should determine your path contingent on which leads to your best trait. If the 2 available paths are equal or very close in ranking it is usually best to adhere to the fork that leads to the highest value Tier 3 trait, as this often results in the largest DPS increase. If the best available Tier 3 trait is in the middle, you should always default to the highest ranked Tier 2 upgrade, as you are able to reach it from either path.

Be aware that the theorycraft for the Tier 2 upgrades available through the Netherlight Crucible is still in a primordial state, and therefore the ordering of upgrades detailed below is not entirely definite. This will be continually updated leading up to and following the release of the Crucible as things become more clear. This priority was determined using SimCraft.

2. Tier 2 Upgrade Priority for Demonology Warlock

The top 4 upgrades are noticeably stronger than their peers, and each are worth over +3 weapon item levels, with Light Speed Icon Light Speed clocking in close to +5 weapon item levels alone. Dark Sorrows Icon Dark Sorrows, on the other hand, is significantly weaker than all other traits (barring the 2 defensive traits) and should be avoided.

  1. Light Speed Icon Light Speed;
  2. Master of Shadows Icon Master of Shadows;
  3. Murderous Intent Icon Murderous Intent;
  4. Shocklight Icon Shocklight;
  5. Torment the Weak Icon Torment the WeakInfusion of Light Icon Infusion of LightSecure in the Light Icon Secure in the Light;
  6. Chaotic Darkness Icon Chaotic Darkness;
  7. Shadowbind Icon Shadowbind;
  8. Dark Sorrows Icon Dark Sorrows*;
  9. Refractive Shell Icon Refractive Shell;
  10. Light's Embrace Icon Light's Embrace.

*Dark Sorrows Icon Dark Sorrows steadily rises in value as the number of sustained targets increases. At approximately 5 targets it becomes the best available trait for multi-target damage, provided the splash damage connects on all targets. This trait is still not recommended, however, due to the inconsistency across encounters of different archetypes.

3. Tier 3 Upgrade Priority for Demonology Warlock

The Tier 3 upgrades are identical to the relic priority found in our Artifact Traits and Relics page, however, they have been relisted here for your convenience.

  1.  Icon Infernal Furnace;
  2.  Icon The Doom of Azeroth;
  3.  Icon Maw of Shadows;
  4.  Icon Summoner's Prowess;
  5. Left Hand of Darkness Icon Left Hand of Darkness;
  6.  Icon Sharpened Dreadfangs;
  7.  Icon Dirty Hands;
  8.  Icon Legionwrath.

If you are unlucky enough to roll all defensive low value traits for your Tier 3 upgrades, you should be aiming for the best Tier 2 option available in the Crucible, or whichever defensive/niche trait you prefer to focus on, as they have minimal DPS gains.

4. ChangeLog

  • 13 Oct. 2017: Added a note about Dark Sorrows on multi-target.
  • 17 Sep. 2017: Relic priority updated to match update to Artifact page.
  • 13 Sep. 2017: Old priority rendered erroneous by recent balancing; updated Tier 2 priority based on SimCraft results.
  • 11 Sep. 2017: Added Netherlight Crucible page for Demonology Warlock.
+ show all entries - show only 10 entries
Force desktop version
Force mobile version