FORUMS
Sign in to follow this  
falagar

Another ret paly looking for help

Hi, looking for DPS help.

I'm fairly new to Ret, I usually heal, but have to DPS a lot lately. I try to follow IcyVeins tips on stats and rotation, but I feel like I should be putting out more DPS for my ilvl.

Armory: http://us.battle.net/wow/en/character/zuluhed/Xerfalin/advanced

Log: http://www.askmrrobot.com/wow/combatlog/134b4043-57f4-407b-8103-2812e4e50e58/report/2#v=0,d=0,c=5

Gruul should be pretty straight-forward single-target DPS. AskMrRobot says I am 25% percentile for 679 ret pallies. That seems a bit low, not looking to be 90%, but I'd like to crack 50%.

Am I doing something obviously wrong?

Or does only having a 670 weapon and no set bonus hurt me this much?

Appreciate any tips.

Thanks!

From what i can read in the logs (AMR logs arent' that good compared to warcraft logs), you have good CD usage (used AW 3 times and Execution Sentence 5 times)

I think your problem lies in Holy power generator usage, you only used Crusader strike 40 times (without any haste you could've used 55), same with Judgement, 30 uses where you could've used 41 without counting haste. If you had used them on CD you would have had more final verdict and more Divine Crusader procs. You should never delay holy power generator spells unless you're at max Holy power (5), don't use final verdict with 3 Holy power if you have a holy power generator off CD, pool it to 5 instead and then use Final Verdict. Other than that i can't tell anything wrong about your rotation from the AMR log.

Thanks!

That definitely gives me something to work with. I'm probably missing a few CDs on Gruul because of Petrify, but I agree it shouldn't be so many, and I am probably not as diligent as I should be with these CDs.

I'll try to get a new log from warcraftlogs this week, and link it as well.