FORUMS
Sign in to follow this  
Viralfury

What Mage Spec is Top DPS and Why?

Hello everyone,

This is my first time posting on this site, however I have used it for any information I needed about my class.

Currently I am playing as a 861 fire mage.

I am curious as what everyone else has to say about the Mage class right now. Since 7.1 is fire still the best? Has Arcane or Frost been buffed past Fire? What is everyone else's thoughts.

I raid Heroic EN right now - I am the only mage in our guild and want to make sure I am the top of my game.

You can for the most part be either arcane or fire depending on which playstyle you are better accustomed to, however if your gear is very heavily weighted towards crit fire will always outperform arcane as crit is weighted much higher currently though they have announced potential nerfs in regard to that with fire.

Arcane has been buffed repeatedly, and looks to be possibly getting buffed again in the near future as well, Frost being almost entirely a PVP mage spec in spite of recent buffs to its output. 

In general if youre stacking mastery then crit, arcanes performance goes up, however if you have high crit but low mastery fire is youre way to go. 

there are a number of ways to go, personally i just love arcane because of the burst factor and also the fact that I got the BiS legendary for it. 

it should also be noted the BiS legend for Fire mages will be nerfed in upcoming patches and assuming you have not yet gotten a legendary that is spec dependant now is better than any time to choose your focus.

As Rosario already posted, is that all the performance of the specs is really depending on your gear. All 3 are viable in PvE atm, if you're an excellent player. But most players started Legion with Fire and it's relatively easy to "master" especially compared to Arcane.

You can have a look at the rankings on warcraftlogs to see which specs are played and even have a look at the replay to "see" how they're playing :)