Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

Not quite sure how to handle the Restoration Shaman

9 posts in this topic

I have a restoration shaman in my raids that is performing quite a bit under HPS-wise for my raid group. I'll be the first one to admit that I'm no expert on restoration and that to provide instruction to him on where to improve might actually hurt him more than help. That's why I'm making this post here. I'm at my wits end with this. I want a couple perspectives on where he could improve in his HPS... though I know HPS isn't everything in a fight and that decisions matter more than anything. 

Here is his armory,

Here are a couple of logs where he was with us:

I don't want to have to remove him from my group as he's generally willing to follow instructions almost to the letter and is a well to do individual. He's just not where I need him to be. 

Armory might not be showing the talents he was using in the raid but I noticed Primal Elementalist and didn't see the Empower buff. I wouldn't personally recommend that talent either way, Elemental Blast is pretty much the best of that tier in every situation.

Also, very few healing surges out of him, at the berserk on Butcher it's usually best to start dumping your mana to keep people healthy. And I know several people disagree with me on this, but I prefer High Tides over CBT, I think there's just too many opportunities for CBT's healing to be barely noticeable. Considering Chain Heal was his 2nd highest source of healing, he would definitely benefit from High Tides, even if he's unable to keep the extra Riptides up.

Also, he's using the mastery weapon enchant, switch that to spirit.

Edited by Cantdoit

Armory was more so for gearing, to see if there were issues with that. As far as I know, the only way to know talents chosen at the time of the raids was to read buffs and debuffs in the logs. 

You know what, at first glance it looks like your Shaman is performing admirably.