Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

New to Resto Shaman and need help

8 posts in this topic

Hello all. 

First time poster and relative new healer.  I normally main a hunter....however due to turnover in our healing ranks for various reasons I've volunteered to try and heal for our team.  I have a general understanding of the concept of healing and had my baptism by fire by healing in SoO heroic last week.  I didn't do too bad, but I want to be better.  Specifically I want to become more mana efficient and not do so much overhealing I could use some advice on the best ways to do so without being completely reactive to incoming damage and more proactive.  Any general tips or do's and dont's with resto shamans would be helpful as well.  I'm sorry if I'm asking alot, but again....I'm fairly new to this and am not satisfied with being so-so.  Thanks in advance.

Here is a link to my shamman on the armory for any other ideas.  (Yes I know I still have ele gear, but it's all I have.)

nice gear, crit's a touch low but no excuses there as long as you ahve the healing LMG.

have any logs?

mana efficiency and less overheals go hand in hand. get used to situations where you're going to be overlapping HS with someone else's direct heal and cast HW instead. every healer in your group will prioritize certain people with their own reactive heals. if you really want to avoid overheals, use unglyphed riptide as the first thing you do when someone is in danger then cast HW on them and see if their bar gets filled up by teamwork.

with our mastery and cooldowns testing the waters to see if people get behind on healing isnt a risk. just stop casting and see if your existence matters. learn what parts of each fight you can make the most difference on.

Hello, and welcome to the pithy underbelly that is healing. :) Really it's my favorite class and spec of all time and I've mained it since BC on a few different shaman toons.