FORUMS
Panthion

Fury Warrior Analysis: Help

I have been playing World of Warcraft for the last 4-5 years and in that time have raided as a tank, a melee dps, and a healer. While I enjoy each role, melee dps will always be my preferred role and it is what I have primarily raided as since mid-tier 11. Splitting my time between first my Ret Paladin, later as a Frost and Unholy DK, and finally my Fury/Arms warrior, I have spent more time on forums, in cross realm ventrillo and mumble servers, and in whispers than I care to tell working on maximizing my dps potential and raid effectiveness. I research my class endlessly, but have found a problem that many of you might be able to relate to. I play on a small, backwater server with slow progression and a tight community. None of this really bothers me but it does present one major issue: the lack of quality players to both challenge my skill and my knowledge of the class. I have few people to compare notes with, and those who I do are usually off server.

Early in the release of Mists of Pandaria, I like many of you, experienced issues with my dps, which confounded and confuddled me to no end. In an attempt to fix my low output, I tried everything from Arms to Titan's Grip to Single Minded Fury, read up constantly and used as many sites as I could to tweak my character to be the most effective. I was worried, I had recently joined a new raiding guild as mine transferred servers towards the end of Cataclysm. My low numbers were not something that was helping my new teamates respect for me and I was worried about being the weakest link. Luckily, my raid leader was understanding, expressed his own concerns damage wise and told me to keep working on it, we would be fine. A number of weeks (and lots of gear drops) later I sit here today with a much more respectable, competitive melee dps (at least within my own raid).