FORUMS
Sign in to follow this  
Soco

Shadowburn or Chaos Bolt

I'm pretty new to playing my warlock in a serious setting and got a quick question. 

When a raid boss is below 20% health and I have full embers, should I spam Shadowburn even though the boss won't die within 5 seconds or should a spam Chaos Bolt? Third option I guess, I could alternate them and do Chaos, Shadow, Chaos, Shadow? 

Thanks for your quick reply, although in regards to your snippy "as it is written in the guide" bit...the guide says "below 20% and when the conditions of Chaos Bolt are met"

the last condition of Chaos Bolt is "the target will die shortly" 

so I suppose my question should have read "Should I still spam Shadowburn even if my target is not necessarily going to die shortly. I'm sure the answer is the same, but just thought I point out that your attitude is slightly more rude than necessary. 

Thanks again though for your quick reply and help.

Unless I am mistaken (and I am sure someone will correct me) the current advice is only to use SB if it will die within those 5 seconds or if you can Havoc the SB onto another target. Otherwise you use CB but ideally only with procs, no spamming of it without! (Be aware this that this advice is for a non GoSac-CR, level 100 talent, rotation though). SB can be an option if you are on the move and about to cap Embers and/or have nothing else to cast. 

At lower gear levels mana regeneration can be an issue and while you are casting CB you regain a lot of MP. Also like the guide says SB doesn't always crit and if not you lose damage over using CB.

Edited by spikeysquad