FORUMS
Sign in to follow this  
Xceptiona1

Arcane VS Aimed

I am new to MM hunter spec and would like some input on what to dump my focus with. I see in the IV guide that they are going from beta information and suggest either. In my last raid I used only Aimed Shot for a focus dump and have the timing down well and like the rotation, however I was checking world of logs and it appears many of the top hunters do not cast Aimed shot much at all.

What do you guys suggest? Thank you

olben - azgalor

• Like 1

There is an ongoing debate, but what it comes down to is cast time on aimed shot. I think the goal is 1.8 second cast time to switch from arcane to aimed, but my last read on that may be off. Kind of a sticky situation with it though. The only way to really get it down to that is by really boosting up your haste, but crit is generally more desired than haste. The only time I switch to aimed in my rotation is when I have another huge buff (lust, rapid fire, ect) which drives down the cast time to below 1.8 seconds.

Also, MM hunters took a huge drop in the DPS ratings. You don't see a lot of us anymore since BM and SV got a lot of help in MoP. Not sure why, but I do love my MM hunter and just can't seem to get away from him.

• Like 1

Tidalwavex summed it up pretty well. Comes down to how fast you can get off those aimed shots. Elitist Jerks has a nice break down for those haste break points.

If your dps is still holding up with the rest of your group do it how you feel comfortable. If your group is having issues or you want to get into a more competitive dps race. Definitely check those break points

Edited by Soultrain
  • Like 1

Crazy question to my answer: Does 5.2 change MM hunters to make Aimed Shot relevant? Quick patch notes I found the cast time for Aimed Shot going from 2.9 to 2.5 seconds. I could be crazy, but that sounds like a significant reduction and can easily make Aimed Shot the main focus dump.