FORUMS
Sign in to follow this  
BMaxwell00

Fire.

Is there something wrong with this specialization? I have yet to see a single Fire mage since I started playing again, a few months ago, and while that's not a sign that the spec is absolutely atrocious in itself, it does make me wonder. I've been leveling a mage with the intent of running HFC as Fire, but since he's not at 100 yet I don't really know what to expect.

Could anyone give me a basic rundown of it? If it's fun to use, how it performs in HFC at the moment*, its strengths, how gear dependant it is, things I should be aware of, etc.

My guild is currently at 12/13N, and we haven't done any Heroic or Mythic yet, so we're talking about performance at up to ilvl 700 or so.

*I did check Ask Mr. Robot but there's only so much I can deduce by looking at DPS benchmarks.

Hello. 

Fire was very popular in Blackrock Foundry due to their insane 4-piece bonus, which gave them huge combustions. 

As for Hellfire Citadel, they are good for mythic with 4- piece bonus and with the right trinkets. Having enough crit is of course important - which makes fire mages gear dependant. You can still get those huge combustions, but its not as easy as it was in BRF. 

It is also some RNG involved with fire's dps -as you can be luck or unlucky with trinketprocs, combustions etc. 

For Normal and Heroic i would recommend you going frost and arcane. Arcane also does really good cleave damage if you have the Mannoroth trinket. 

Overall; fire do well on cleavefights if you have the right trinkets and a decent amount of crit. 

Fire is absolute fine!

Problem is the HFC. The bosses (on NHC and HC) are just not made for fire... There're no bosses like the Iron Madens or something nearly to a cleavefight with 3 targets to hit for quite some time.

That's just the reason why nobody is playing fire atm.

Fire isn't bad really, the other specs are just pretty good for most fights:

https://www.warcraftlogs.com/rankings/8