FORUMS
Sign in to follow this  
Tipz1

Dk Blood tank DW?

Hello

I've been wondering for sometime now if it is possible to tank with DW as blood atm? i think it would be great if we could so please let me hear your thoughts about it

Sincerely

Tipz1

I am no DK expert, but I don't see any way this would be a viable thing.

Blood DK's simply have no skill or ability that would take advantage of two 1-handers instead of 1 2-hander.

Not at all, because all of your damaging skills (Heart Strike, Rune Strike, Death Strike) do a % of weapon damage, which means that they're gonna hit like wet noodles if you use them with 1 handers. On top of that, 1 2-handed weapon actually gives more Str/Stam and secondary stats than 2 1-handers.

Once again, there is absolutely *no* reason at all for you to take 2 1-handers over 1 2-hander.

• Like 2

Is it viable? Yes

Is it optimal? not by a long shot.

On the one hand, Death Strike's healing is purely based on HP and damage taken. RP and rune regen have nothing to do with weapons. so you won't lose survivability by Dual wielding blood. Diseases and spell based abilities such as Icy Touch, and blood boil, and death coil don't figure in weapon damage at all, so they won't be affected.

But your dps will take a considerable hit. The only reason DW Frost works is because there is a passive ability which causes your offhand to also strike whenever you obliterate or frost strike. WIthout a similar talent for blood you will essentially cut out 50% of your Death strike, rune strike, and heart strike dps. Doing rough math on my Lei Shen logs from last night, I would lose about 25% dps bringing me from around 60k dps down to more like 45k.