FORUMS
Sign in to follow this  
beenoera

[enhance]Some questions about enhance shaman

Hello, everyone.

I am new to wow, shaman is my first character and I like it very much. After reading tons of guide of which stats is more important and how to perform a good rotation, I managed to deal great dps in raid.

But I still have a few questions.

• The guide in icy-veins tells me the perfect ratio between haste and Mastery is 3:5(60%). So this works for everyone no matter how high your mastery can reach? I have a mastery of 70 and a haste of 17, and I think my dps is higher than before when I only have 50mastery and 23 haste. My point is, is there a threshold in mastery or haste? And this 60% ratio is base on simulationcraft?
  • My understanding of enhance shanman is that it's actually a class build on 1 single skill - storm strike. So everything is about making stormstrike more powerful and triggering it more often. As far as I know, mastery increase the trigger rate of stormstrike, so how come it's not the priority of all the stats? In this way, we should get our mastery as high as possible. Of course, haste can lower the gcd and give you more maelstorm power, but actually we don't need that much of maelstorm when we have both the feral spirit and the doom wind. (Please explain to me in detailed, don't throw me data in sc. I personally don't like sc because it cannot simulate all combat scenarios.) 
  • To further investigate the former point, is there a strict math relationship between total damage from stormstrike and mastery? My friend's mastery is 50, his stormstrike damage is 15% of his total damage while mine is 20% with a mastery of 70. And within the same time, he cast stormstrike 30% less than me(trigger rate is 30% lower?). Of course with lower mastery he has higher haste. so does these means the 60% ratio between haste and mastery is wrong?