FORUMS
Sign in to follow this  
Zorban

Question about Affliction stats

Hey there. I've decided to actually do some raid content this expansion instead of messing around. I'm a bit new to all this so I'm sorry if this is a silly question.

I've been playing as Affliction and I understand that mastery > haste > crit.

My question is does it matter if I have any crit? http://eu.battle.net/wow/en/character/argent-dawn/Zorban/simple You can see in my armory that I've only got 1 item with crit on it and I was hoping to replace it with mastery whenever I get the chance.

https://www.warcraftlogs.com/reports/d81vrZh2wFnRkt3j/#fight=15&type=damage-done These are the logs from my guild's raid last night. I'm happy with the dps I'm doing but I'm just wondering if I'm missing out on some extra dps. If maybe I've invested too heavily into mastery and haste.

Thanks for your time.

On 10/6/2016 at 7:51 PM, Lockybalboa said:

No such thing as to heavy into your better stats. Always follow the priority.

Which priority should we follow? There's one from Icy Veins stat priority guide and then there's simulation craft where the priority seems to change based on what gear we have. How accurate is the Simulationcraft.org tool?

The exact weight of your stats is going to change with every item you get, generally speaking these fluctuations are minor but when simmed they will change slightly item by item. The best way to select each item is to sim it vs. your current set up, however this is time consuming and will never result in a major DPS gain/loss assuming you are going after the stats you are looking for. Thus why most people simply follow a stat priority and leave it at that.

Stats make up a fairly small part of your DPS to start with, so going full ham and simming each and every item that comes your way is a huge amount of time spent for what even in the most advantageous of cases will only be a very small gain.