FORUMS
Sign in to follow this  
Ketchup

860 Fire Mage w/ Some Questions

I have been raiding on this mage since Legion started and I am new to the class. I am currently having some issues pulling the numbers I should be pulling. I am going to be posting some logs and if anyone could assist me in any way that would be amazing. I feel like I have a good grasp of the class but when a fellow member of my guild looked at my logs compared to other mages around my ilvl he noticed my fireball was critting 20% less and IDK why. I would gladly give anyone more information if they need it but iff there is anything anyone can think of to help me out that would awesome. Thanks!

My name is Ketchup on the logs and I am an Orc Fire mage from the server Area 52

https://www.warcraftlogs.com/reports/GTaQYB2PD87AF1Kn/#fight=11&type=damage-done

I'm still learning myself here so I'm not an expert, but IMO:

1. It looks like you maybe sacrificing Crit for iLvl. I'm 15 points behind you in iLvl and have more Crit.

2. For single target I've been stacking haste, as recommended on this forum and other resources. I see lots of versatility and mastery in  your gear. I see you had 55 casts of Pyro and 48 of FB, on my last attempt on Ursoc, scaled to match your kill timer, I had 66 Pyros and 65 FB

3. Your rotation seems fine to me.

Edited by Linkage

I appreciate the info. I always do try to use gear that has the most crit over ilvl most of the time. I am wondering if my trinkets are at all an issue also? I currently have twisting wind and wriggling sinew but I had the shock baton but got rid of it (stupidly). When i compared myself to other mages with similar crit, I am still not critting as much as they are on fireball.

Some basic things first.  Unless you are using AoE on a boss fight, there is little reason to bring Living Bomb.  It takes time to cast that could otherwise be used on Fireballs to proc Heating Up.