FORUMS
Sign in to follow this  
Cky

I am looking for help (DPS Mage Fire)

Hi there.

I am new in wow so far I could blame my ilvl also gear for dpsing so low, now it not problem at all.

I already thought about to change spec fire to another, but first of all I want to know what I am doing wrong, maybe I will have same problem in another spec.

Log: https://www.warcraftlogs.com/reports/GRJwtBzK4p8fg3LM/

My own link: http://us.battle.net/wow/en/character/azralon/Bröwnnie/simple

if I missed something tell me I will send.

Thank you all.

So the first problem I noticed right away was your using combust, then dropping a rune. Rune lasts for 10 seconds, as does Combust, so maximizing the amount of time both are up is crucial. You can cast Combust while casting other spells, so you want have a hot streak ready, start casting Rune, and hit Combust as Rune is about to finish casting and go into it your burst from there alternating as many Pyro/FBs as possible, then PF, then scorch. Your other Combusts didn't even use a Rune, which is a huge dps hit, so much of our damage output is focused into that 10 seconds of Combust, you want that 50% boost. Make sure to always save a Rune for that Combust phase, either by only droppingRunes when you get that second charge back, or by ensuring the charge CD will return at about the same time as Combust coming off CD.

I noticed a few Flamestrikes, which were used on a Xavius fight, which should never have more than a couple of mobs stacked at once. I generally reserve flamestrike for if the group is in dire need of a slow and absolutely nobody else can apply it, or for more than 4-5 mobs stacked. The issue with flamestrike is it doesn't hit nearly hard enough to make breaking up your crit chain worth it. When you cast a fireball with Hot Streak active, then immediately cast the followup pyroblast, if either crit you will recieve the heating up, and if both crit you will recieve a new Hot Streak, flamestrike does not provide this.