FORUMS
Sign in to follow this  
Vargnatt

A couple of questions regarding Affliction

So I recently started playing Affli lock again. I love the spec, however I have a couple of doubts about it,

1) Souls for reap souls. Always at 0-1. Since, from my understanding, the single target rotation for Affli is Agony -> Corruption -> Siphon Life -> Unstable Affliction x2 -> Reap Souls -> Malefic grasp until UA is off, I don't think it's normal to be Souls starved, I suppose I'm doing something wrong. I can throw a 12 stacks at the pull, then maybe a 4-5 one after that one is over, then a 3, then always 0, at max 1. I mean, 1 is still "fine", but most of the time I don't have Souls to cast Reap with. What am I doing wrong?

2) Mana. I know I have life tap, but damn I'm ALWAYS out of mana. Like, every 3-4 casts of UA (I mean double casts) I'm drained, need to life tap. Isn't it a dps loss to life tap like a madman? Also, should I life tap from 0 to 85-90%, or just once?

Just trying to improve here, still grasping the whole rotation, still 846 item level, but I don't think these two issues can be resolved with gear.

Welcome.

1. Reap Souls has a random proc rate of something like 4.5 a minute (at least it did at one point, not sure if it's still that number but regardless it's pretty low). To Reap is a bonus, otherwise do your drain cycle without.

It is very normal to be soul starved though naturally sometimes you get a lot too. 12 is just a bonus on farm/in dungeons. Make sure you tag as much as you can as adds often give souls (and Wrath of Consumption stacks).

2. Well I'd say it's more of a DPS loss to not cast anything or not have the mana to cast the spell you need to like letting Agony fall off. 

After a while it's something you weave into your rotation. It's a nice filler sometimes when you are waiting for DoTs to pandemic. Otherwise it's handy to do on moving and when all your DoTs are refreshed. It comes in useful sometimes.