FORUMS
Sign in to follow this  
vandevere

WOW Newbie here with a few questions...

First, I created a Paladin, and I'm looking for Classes that are easy to play, with good survival as I learn my way through the game.

Second, what are the game mechanics when your toon dies?  Do you have to run back to your corpse and risk mobs corpse-camping you?

Hello and welcome to the community!

if you die, you can either run back to your corpse or resurrect at the Spirit Healer (places a nasty stat-lowering debuff on you for 10 minutes). There's a "rez tolerance radius" so you can avoid aggroing mobs on respawn.

The second question is a little trickier to answer as all comes down to personal preference. Most of the mobs will die before they even reach you, so you should pick whatever you enjoy most. Class Trials allow you to create a Level 100 character to try out gameplay (Artifact acquisition quest line included).

Classes have various specs. Some are pure DPS classes (Mage, Rogue, Warlock), some are more versatile (Druid, Paladin, Monk). Want to tank, heal and have 2 DPS specs? Go Druid. From my personal experience, I've always facerolled content with classes that had a pet (Hunters, Frost Mages, Demonogy Warlocks).

As stan said. When you die everything goes monochrome and all enemies can't touch you. Once you find your corpse a button to revive now appears. Now, you can respawn in the middle of baddies but there is a radius of revival so you can move to a safer spot and revive.

For newer toons just leveling I might recommend Tanks. They are durable with good self healing self defending abilities. Now you shouldn't have problems with DPS (damage) characters at all. Healers typically have a rougher time leveling often having to switch specs. Also if starting from lvl 1 Tanks do incredibly more damage than DPS for some time due to scaling/design issues. So, tanks are more sturdy and probably the easiest to start with for leveling/questing.