FORUMS
Sign in to follow this  
1198Corse

Resto Shaman 5.4

Hello! I am pretty new to shaman, just hit 90 a week or two ago. I have full Tyrannical for Ele PvP (initial goal) but now I am gonna try my hand at Resto PvE as well. I have been looking around and see vastly different opinions on stat weights, and since these forums were a major help with my monk I thought I should ask here.

What are the ideal stat weights for 5.4 Resto Shaman PvE?

Here is my Askmrrobot page for my shaman, 

http://www.askmrrobot.com/wow/gear/usa/durotan/bscrub

I know I am in essentially full Tyrannical Ele gear, though I am running LFRs and such to fix that. Despite my gear, what would you recommend I gun for stat weight wise? Help!

Hi there Corse,

The stats for Resto are really very even, and you will certainly find that depending on different things your weights will change. Personal preference is also definitely a factor. Here is a list of things to consider;

1. Gear Level - The lower your gear level, the less you will like Haste (which is usually considered "Mana Negative"). This is because your Spirit is too low to sustain very high cast-rate rotations. "Low" counts as about ilvl 500 and below for these purposes. By ilvl 520 you can start to stack Haste if you prefer. The alternatives are Crit and Mastery - it is often advisable to have a nice distribution of these.
  2. Average HP Levels - Mastery is a very powerful stat for Resto, but it comes at a cost; When the average health of a raid is usually above a certain threshold, the more Mastery you have the more stats you are wasting. The threshold for Crit overtaking Mastery is about 67%. Additionally, after 50% Mastery you tend to waste any more stat points you put into Mastery.