FORUMS
Sign in to follow this  
Novarin

Frost Mage improvement

Hello everyone! I'm rather new to ranged classes, especially the mage and I feel like I am underperforming, compared to my fellow mages.

I'm seeking some help to know where to start and trying to improve as I'm currently not in our mythic raid group and I'd like to change that.

Here's my most recent log from Heroic Argus:

https://www.warcraftlogs.com/reports/wk892qX16NKhHm7J#fight=13&type=damage-done&source=152

and an older log from Kin'garoth Heroic:

https://www.warcraftlogs.com/reports/nD16gwGK97TM4jXH#fight=7&type=damage-done&source=18

/note: I don't have Shard of the Exodar yet, however I'm considering swapping out my legendary Hands for the quest legendary (Insignia of the Grand Army) so I can complete the 2p/4p combo, is that worth or not?

Thanks in advance!

19 hours ago, Novarin said:

/note: I don't have Shard of the Exodar yet, however I'm considering swapping out my legendary Hands for the quest legendary (Insignia of the Grand Army) so I can complete the 2p/4p combo, is that worth or not?

This depends entirely on your NLC rolls. The worth of that ring changes entirely on what you have picked on relics.

For your logs, Argus first:

• You aren't shattering your Flurry by hardcasting before hand. If you miss 1 or 2, it's not a big deal, but you missed 32. You need to hardcast Frostbolt or Ebonbolt before you send your instant Flurry, since it will shatter and gain the damage bonus. 
  • You wasted Brain Freeze procs by triggering another one before using them. Always spend them before casting a spell that can trigger another one, or spend it at the same time as you launch the other spell.
  • You missed 2 Ice Lance shatters after your Flurry.

Kin:

• Exact same issues as on Argus, just different amounts.

Those are the main points to work on, especially shattering before and after your Flurry. That's a big DPS impact.

3 hours ago, Blainie said: