Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  

Mists of Pandaria - changes and new content

Recommended Posts

The purpose of this thread is to provide a brief list of the new features that are being added in Mists of Pandaria. Additionally, it includes the changes to the current game systems that are significant. It is not meant to be an exhaustive list or a "changelog".

1. Dungeons and Raids

  • 6 new dungeons: Gate of the Setting Sun (4 bosses), Mogu'shan Palace (3 bosses), Shado-Pan Monastery (4 bosses), Siege of Niuzao Temple (4 bosses), Stormstout Brewery (3 bosses), and Temple of the Jade Serpent (4 bosses);
  • 3 revamped dungeons: Scarlet Halls (3 bosses), Scarlet Monastery (3 bosses), and Scholomance (5 bosses);
  • 3 raids: Heart of Fear (6 bosses), Mogu'shan Vaults (6 bosses), and Terrace of Endless Spring (4 bosses);
  • 2 outdoor bosses (world bosses).

All dungeons and raids have both normal and heroic mode and will continue to be available in both 10 and 25-man raid sizes. Raids will also be available through the Looking For Raid system.

2. Class changes

  • Level cap has been increased to 90.
  • The old talent system is completely gone. It is being replaced with a different talent system. You have 6 talent points (gained at levels 15, 30, 45, 60, 75 and 90). Each talent point must be placed in one of 3 mutually exclusive talents. Most talents are no longer performance-enhancing and generally have convenience and utility as their main goals.
  • Most classes and specs retain their abilities, although these are no longer available cross-spec in the same way as before (for example, Retribution Paladins cannot cast Holy Light, Divine Light or Holy Radiance).
  • Prime Glyphs have been removed from the game. Major Glyphs no longer offer clear benefits (in the vein of +10% damage or critical strike chance to X spell). Minor Glyphs are almost entirely cosmetic or "fun".
  • Abilities are automatically learned without visiting the trainer.

3. New additions

1. New class and race

  • A new class, the Monk, has been added to the game. It is available to both Alliance and Horde players. Monks wear leather and have the following specialisations: tank (Brewmaster), healer (Mistweaver), and melee DPS (Windwalker).
  • A new race, the Pandaren, has been added to the game. It is available to both Alliance and Horde players.

2. New dungeon mode: Challenge Mode

A new type of dungeon mode is being introduced. It is essentially a "time trial", where your group has to complete the heroic dungeon before the timer runs out.

  • The item level of your gear is "normalised" to a level that is considered to make the challenge challenging.
  • Depending on the time in which you complete the dungeon, you can earn three achievements: bronze, silver and gold.
  • Completing the challenge mode will only provide cosmetic rewards, such as unique-looking armor sets, titles or mounts.

3. New PvE setting: Scenarios

Scenarios are still in development so not very much is known about them yet. Scenarios will act as a type of hybrid between quests and dungeons. Here is what is known so far:

  • They will be instanced.
  • They will not require the tank/healer/DPS trinity in order to be completed. They should be easily doable (and perhaps ideally) by all DPS players.
  • You will be able to engage in Scenarios together with other players (i.e., with your group members).
  • They will reward Valor Points, helping you towards reaching the weekly cap.

4. New game mode: Pet Battles

The new Pet Battle System allows you to use your non-combat pets to fight against other players' non-combat pets. The pet battles will follow a Pokemon-style of fighting.

Additionally, a great many new pets will be available and collectible throughout the game world, providing an additional challenge and/or time-sink.

5. New zones

Mists of Pandaria will bring a new continent, Pandaria, that players will use to level up to level 90 and gather materials for their professions from.

Pandaria is divided in the following zones:

  • The Jade Forest (85-86)
  • Valley of the Four Winds (86-88)
  • Krasarang Wilds (86-88)
  • Kun-Lai Summit (87-89)
  • Townlong Steppes (89-90)
  • Dread Wastes (89-90)
  • Vale of Eternal Blossoms (90)
  • Like 1

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites
This topic is now closed to further replies.
Sign in to follow this  

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.

  • Create New...