FORUMS
Sign in to follow this  
Warfaire

Cold Wizard Build

I am relatively new to Wizard and I Solo more than I group with others.  I have found that I like to keep my distance and been using the below.  I am still just 400 paragon so I still have some leveling.  I have the LON rings and some of the set items listed here... I guess my question is, are my spell setups viable for good high level GR's?  Should I stack LoN with Cold and Ray of Frost modifiers?  I have been focusing recently on higher raw damage numbers and set items that only increase dmg output for what I use below.  I don't see hardly anything online for Cold Wiz builds.

Primary - Ray of Frost (Snow Blast) - can essentially cast it non stop if I dont use anything else
rt click - Blizzard (Frozen Solid) - for getting hard guys frozen so I can get away or better control if needed.

1: Energy Armor (Energy Tap) - help with arcane power
2: Been mixing this one between:  (basically for when they get close or if I want to murder the trash quickly
Explosive Blast (Chain Reaction)
Wave of Force (Heat Wave)
3: Teleport (Wormhole) - Those pesky Wall and Purple Beam Traps
4: Familiar (Arcanot) - for Arcane regen. 

Thanks again.

How bout this:
Passive: Glass Cannon, Evocation, Astral Presence, Audacity

Mouse1: Ray of Frost (Cold Blood)
Mouse2: Blizzard (Frozen Solid)
1: Energy Armor (Energy Tap)
2. (Explosive Blast (Chain Reaction)
3. Teleport (Wormhole)
4. Magic Weapon (Ignite)

Then i can spec gear for cold and fire?  Tal Rasha?, Lon?  Would LON have more impact?

thanks again

This build uses cold damage (frozen orb):
https://www.icy-veins.com/d3/wizard-dmo-frozen-orb-build-patch-2-6-5-season-17

In general you can use any build you like in the lower Torment difficulties.

If you want to go as high as possible (Greater Rifts) it will be inevitable to use one the guides you find in the net.