FORUMS
Sign in to follow this  
wombocombo

Some random mage pve questions

hey everyone, i'm somewhat new to playing a mage and just had a few questions about some things.  i'm currently playing frost at a 551 ilvl.

armory link (need to change a couple gems around/reforge to get back to 12684 haste)

http://us.battle.net/wow/en/character/lightnings-blade/Wombocombo/simple

some logs (25 normal, though it says lfr because we have people from 3 different servers due to merging)

tonight: 

http://www.worldoflogs.com/reports/rt-1uea9ys5xrsxco9h/

last tuesday:

http://www.worldoflogs.com/reports/vzd36zjfz4gu4hsq/

some questions

1. does frozen orb work the same way as dots with respect to buffs/trinkets?  if i cast frozen orb with no trinket procs and then some proc will it continue to do the same unbuffed damage?

2. are there any specific addons i can use to track the timing of my living bomb ticks?  i'm uneasy at times to snapshot because i don't want to refresh it right before it's about to tick since they do decent damage and don't tick often

3.  does living bomb still provide a better single target damage output with the legendary meta proc?  it seems like nether tempest has a lot of breakpoints and i'm wondering if the extra ticks will provide more damage and brain freeze procs considering an average amount of meta gem procs.  ex. ~70% haste nt ticking 9 times and lb 3 (or 4 with the end explosion?)

3.5.  does living bomb provide a significantly better damage output than nether tempest?

4.  i enjoy playing frost but at times the rng can be really annoying.  i was hoping to make the switch to fire soon because i like the mobility and lack of rng (...with enough crit), but i'm not sure if i'm at a high enough item level/crit to be able to do more damage than i am currently doing. at what crit/ilvl would it be worth it to make the switch? am i there/close now?

sorry to be that guy, but the help and advice is very much appreciated smile.png