FORUMS
Sign in to follow this  
MojoTank

Prot issues in HC dungeons

Hi there,

I'm kinda new to warrior tanking after switching from DK&Druid to Warr&Monk. I have some issues with tanking as a warrior. I've read through the icy-veins guide to prot warriors but still; after queuing to random hcs I have a pretty high chance of getting that awful question: "Tank why are you taking so horrible damage?!". Well after getting in another dungeon with other than pala or monk healers it doesn't seem to be such a big issue but still have downsides.

My stats:

hsucZuZ.png

My talents:

Y2pUnyr.png

And as a bonus here's a log that I made recently: http://www.warcraftlogs.com/reports/x8VDgcyBWkmQfr9d

I also tried a chilled CM today, well... first boss obliterated me with a pala healer while getting 10kdmg + 30k peaks along with a steady 5k heals. Any tips would be appreciated how to decrease the incoming damage and how to improve in general.

Thanks,

Mojo

You seem to be gearing appropriately, but I'd suggest some different talents. Stormbolt is atrocious. Dragon Roar is better for single target and Shockwave is a better stun. There are basically no situation in which Storm Bolt is an ideal choice. Avatar is also a very sub-optimal choice. 20% every three minutes does not compare to 30% every one minute. Bloodbath outperform Avatar in all situations except those where the target(s) will not live until the expiration of the DoT and any time that the Bloodbath DoT cannot be applied, which is exceedingly rare. I've seen it once. You can also switch Heavy Repercussions out for Sudden Death, which does better damage.