FORUMS
Sign in to follow this  
tacololo

pet control in draenor dungeons (pet on the loose again)

Hi everyone,

I have a question that is probably not new but unfortunately I still dont know the answer. The relevance for me popped up again since I started playing Draenor dungeons last week.

In some dungeons notably everbloom I got accused of a loose pet that pulled extra packs of mobs. I think that indeed happened a few times.

I once had the same problem in stratholme. Somebody explained to me back then that hunter pets tend to attack from behind and that if groups of mobs are close together they can draw aggro from other mobs leading to unwanted pulls and thus sometimes disaster.

Well, can somebody please tell me how to avoid this. Ofcourse I can dismiss pet but that costs a huge chunk of dps. So not really an option.

Or is it just a matter of awareness and every time the pet runs of immediately put him on passive. But it is very easy to be to late with that.

Solutions much appreciated,

Greetings,

Taco

If you're playing MM or SV, Lone Wolf is your best DPS option anyway. Not an option for BM, obviously. 

There's no real way to avoid that without setting your pet to passive and manually assigning targets. You should just keep in mind that your pet will attack the targets you're attacking, so don't attack mobs that are near other unpulled mobs. 

In all honesty, the problem should never even arise if you have at least somewhat competent tank, that won't tank mobs in dangerous places, and won't let them just stand and cast in dangerous places. 

ok thx. I read a suggestion somewhere to make simple macro`s for arcane shhot and multi-shot adding /petattack.

Anyway I crowded ares I just put pet on passive immediately after a fight just to be sure.

pet control is actually very very easy, IF you know how to do it. ill show you