FORUMS
Sign in to follow this  
Guttersnipe

Shard Management Problem During Fights.

Hello,

I've been checking out this site for a week or so, and first wanted to say thanks for maintaining an informative class guide/forums and all the work that entails. It's greatly appreciated.

I'm basically new to being a warlock. I played one during BC, and needless to say, playing one now is basically a whole new ball-game.

My question is regarding soul shard management during fights. What do you do when you are out of shards in the middle of a fight? I have read over the Affliction lock guide here numerous times, but there isn't really anything there about this exact situation, or at least that is not clearly pointed out that I could see. Do we cast Drain Soul to get shards back even though the boss' health is much greater than 20%. or keep casting Malefic Grasp as the filler and pray that we get some lucky Nightfall procs?

Regards

Edited by Damien

If you run out of shards, you do NOT cast Drain Soul pre-execute phase. You just deal with it until Nightfall procs. Your Soul Shards should only be used to cast Haunt outside of Dark Soul duration. As long as you don't let your DoTs fall off, you shouldn't have too many issues running out of Soul Shards. Remember to utilize any adds in a fight that you can kill to fully replenish your shards (Gara'jal's Shadow Realm, Will of Emperor's adds, etc)

Your DPS isn't modeled around 100% Haunt uptime. A good % to aim for is about 50% which is easy to obtain because you should have 100% coverage once you hit execute phase.

Ah, I see. Thank you for the quick reply!

One last question for the time being - do you use Fel Flame to refresh dot durations, or just manually hardcast each individual dot near the end of their duration?

Ah, I see. Thank you for the quick reply!

One last question for the time being - do you use Fel Flame to refresh dot durations, or just manually hardcast each individual dot near the end of their duration?