FORUMS
Sign in to follow this  
Krazyito

Monk healing (My thoughts)

I would like to add my own personal experience with 25 man. I started raiding on my monk very recently. I did most of MSV one day and went to HoF the next, so I have very little experience with the class in a raid setting.

Before MoP I was very confident in my ability to heal with any healing class. They all worked about the same, just had separate niche's and way of doing things. Then the time came to actually learn how to use the monk. So me it felt different solely because of the chi mechanic and generating chi when I want it.

I first tried what I would normally do in terms of healing. Stand in the back, cast ReM/Expel Harm/Mana Tea on CD. Use TFT/Uplift, soothing mists. blah blah blah. No melee interaction whatsoever. What I consistently found was that:

• My healing was terrible (though just under the other healers.) Which I attributed to a lack of gear because I was wearing quite a few blues and 2 greens.
  • My mana never went past 80%~. With me standing there casting Mana Tea on CD (which I never had 2 stacks for the most part and could not generate stacks quick enough to have more then 2 before the CD was up) I had no mana issues whatsoever unless i tried to save someone's life with instant Surging Mists. Which I found as a problem because of the research I did telling me to stack spirit out the ass.
  • Lastly, my chi generation felt pretty horrible and i felt as if i could not generate as much chi on demand as I would like.
These are logs I have for the first night in HoF

After considering these three things mid attempts I decided it was time for me to start melee healing and it addressed the several issues I had:

• In a 25 man Eminence did 8% of my healing PLUS the 3% from my statue. Which bought my total throughput up considerably.
  • I started lose mana considerably faster, but also gained more mana tea charges which put in a better rotation of my usage for the charges.