FORUMS
Sign in to follow this  
Xanthrax

New cards for new player

I am pretty new to Hearthstone. I have bought around 10 classic packs so far and now I'm looking for the best way to expand my card collection. I haven't decided on a character yet.

As far as I see it I have the following options:

- Keep buying classic packs

- Save for and keep running the Arena

- Save for wings of Naxx and Black Rock

I tried the  Arena once with the free pass and got 2 wins. That's probably not enough to keep saving for it. I know people say to go for Arena a lot, but in my opinion a lot of people have to low an average to warrant the 150 gold each time.

What is the best way to expand the card collection? Should I save for Naxx? Or just buy packs?

I started around when you did.  Also just did the Arena once (3 wins) and haven't been back.  I believe you need 6-7 wins to really make your gold back from the Arena, and I don't see myself getting there anytime soon.  So I've been concentrating on Classic packs and just getting as much of that collection as possible to improve my decks.  It's slow going, but consistent in terms of getting a new pack every other day.

I played out quests grinding for Naxxramas and Blackrock. Don't forget to trade in 40 gold quests to try and hit a 60 or 100.

The cards from the adventures, especially Naxxramas, made grinding easier as well.

I think that once the new set comes out, and the a Arena starts awarding packs from all three sets rather than just GvG, the Arena will help more, because the prize packs won't be full of the same Commons.

I never  buy card packs, I always do arena. Despite the amount of wins, you're always going to get a card pack, plus a few other things. Even if you lost every match, you're gaining XP, learning the cards, learning how other people play, plus learning how each card stands on it's own regardless of the deck. I would say always go with Arena over straight buying packs. But that's just me.

• Like 2