FORUMS
Sign in to follow this  
Kobal

Which competitive deck to build first?

As the thread title indicates I am relatively new to Hearthstone still but have started to  dabbled in constructed play with basic or near-basic decks. The deck lists on this site have been very helpful in this regard. 

There have been quite a few frustrating losses though that at least partially could be attributed to my inferior card quality. As such I have been looking around in the deck list section for affordable top tier decks that would put me in a position where my losses are due to my lacking playskill only. I have found three potential candidates, but do lack the experience to judge how competitive they truly are, and as a result which one to work towards. Hence advice would be welcome whether they are indeed all equally viable and a mere matter of personal taste, or whether one or more of the alternatives is objectively superior. 

The three candidates:

Warlock Zoo in its different variations:

Face Hunter (Substituting Leeroy Jenkins for starters)

Zoo is one of the best decks for new players. Although it isn't as straightforward as face hunter, it is still easy to play and is powerful at the same time. However, aggressive decks are easy to play but hard to master and this is one of the cases. It can easily get you to rank 10 and with some skill and higher budget, it can get you up to legendary.

Face hunter is currently (in my opinion) the strongest face deck. You can see it from rank 20 all the way to legend. As I already said, this deck is easy to play but hard to master. The low budget with fast games make this deck a very good option to ladder with. 

Grim Patron is very strong deck and has many variants. I do not recommend this deck, since it is very hard to play. This deck is a combo deck, allowing you to make huge bursts of damage. It is the hardest out of these three, but can be very rewarding.