Korie

Protection Paladin rotation help

Sign in to follow this  

4 posts in this topic

Right, so I started playing my Protection Paladin after deciding to give up since I literally couldnt figure out how to play it properly, I decided to give it another go because I really missed the class & role, the thing is, I currently practise my rotation(The one here on the site)

But I have one thing I dont completely understand what if I'd get a Grand Crusader proc at step 6(Judgment) and since I still have a Crusader Strike & a Consecration to use I'd lose the proc, if I'd prioritize the proc over the rotation it would mean Avenger's Shield would be on Cooldown on Step 3, how am I supposed to tackle the procs & not let it mess up the rotation?

Edit: Where am I supposed to put Sacred Shield?

Edited by Korie

I usually don't follow a set "rotation" since tanking is situational.

I try to save my Grand Crusader procs till after I've Judged or CSed and things tend to keep pretty smooth. I'll use it immediatly if I am in need of Holy Power for SotR. I find that if I do get any kind of downtime between my main skills, it's a good time to refresh Sacred Shield just so I don't waste a cooldown. And even then, it's rare that I don't have either Holy Wrath or Consecration off CD or either Judgement or Crusader strike less than a GCD away.

Use the rotation as a guide but following it to a tee just makes for more brain work and it might take your mind off the task at hand. I'd like to see someone follow that roation doing adds for Horridon lol. As long as you are generating holy power at a decent enough clip you have SoTR available to absorb any big hits and you keep aggro, you are doing your job right. You will find your ideal way of playing as you tank more and more.

Edited by Moraras