FORUMS
Sign in to follow this  
renshilee

Recommended Add-Ons

I would like some suggestions on some of the better add-ons to use, and what is the best method of installing them? I am very new to using add-ons and have played without using them in the past, but it seems they really help to maximize both the game play and player efficiency. Thank you

First we need to establish what you need the add-ons to do.  There are thousands of add-ons out there and they do a wide variety of things.  For example, you have your bag add-ons, currency add-ons, pvp add-ons, entire custom UIs which usually incorporate quite a few add-ons as well.

There are a few sites out there that you can get some add-ons from, but the most centralized place is the twitch/curse client.  It'll be the twitch app if you have merged your curse and twitch accounts, and it'll be the curse app if you have not.

What are you needing add-ons to provide for you?  ways of tracking cooldowns, manage your bags, help you track rares and treasures?

Also some add-ons are very useful for raiding, some for mythic+, others for pvp.

For full custom UIs I suggest either Altz UI or Elv UI as both of these are solid UIs with multiple built in tools.

For raiding and dungeons I suggest Deadly Boss Mods, it's a good add-on for yelling at you when a boss is doing an ability.

Damage meters I suggest either Details (memory intensive) or Skada (less memory use but not quite as accurate as Details).

PVP add-ons I suggest Omnibar/OmniCC, Gladius or sArena.

For tracking rares I suggest either DailyGlobalCheck or Handy_Notes.

If you are going to be using add-ons to track spells, cooldowns, buffs, debuffs, etc..  I very highly recommend WeakAuras2.  There is a website wago.io that you can find a large number of custom weakauras that have been created for many different aspects of the game.  Or you can learn to create the weakauras yourself (does take some time to learn).

Hope this helps, and good luck on your quest.