FORUMS
Sign in to follow this  
TheZanthex

Brewmaster Monk low DPS?

Hello everyone!

This is my first post on this forum so I'm sorry if I missed anything or if I'm a bit confusing in my approach. I just have a few questions -

I've been playing a BrM monk for a few months now and I really am loving the class + spec. It's the first tank class that I've legitimately enjoyed and, after seeing ridiculously high numbers pulled by BrM monks in other 10m groups I couldn't wait to get to that threshold.

However, that never really happened.

Despite my reasonably high itemlevel (560) and over 50% crit with my current build, I find myself struggling to hold about 100-110k DPS at any given time. I've gone through normal once or twice with our guild's heroic group on alt runs, but I've never come close to the damage that I've seen other monks pull.

As a reference point, we had a 574 ish BrM as a tank for our heroic group for a brief spell and I never saw him drop below 200k+ single target DPS. When I asked him about it, he told me he used tiger palm pretty much on every empty GCD, and sure enough tiger palm was his #1 damaging ability. I attempted to follow suit but was unable to replicate anything -close- to that.

I'm not sure if I'm missing something or what but I'm just not doing the damage I see other brewmasters do. This is more noticable on single target fights as I'm normally able to do decently on AoE encounters.

I was talking to another brewmaster that I had in LFR the other day who was 15 ish itemlevels below me yet pulling the same (if not more) damage. She told me she was using rushing jade wind a LOT (nearly on CD) and I did notice a decent increase in DPS, as RJW was my #1 damaging ability. Yet even though it increased my damage I still am not doing as much as I think I should be doing.