Warning It appears that you may be blocking the ads, and we are fine with it (read more here). That said, it would really be awesome if you decided to whitelist our website or make a donation :) You can also send us Bitcoins (1DEkropiHPWBmfJxogFaXQscfzhmdpTti4)!

Protection Warrior Tank Artifact Talents/Traits and Relics (Legion 7.1.5)

Last updated on Jan 10, 2017 at 11:06 by Vlad 173 comments

Table of Contents

General Information

This page shows you how to level up the Artifact and how to choose the right Relics for your Protection Warriors. It is updated for World of Warcraft Legion 7.1.5.

The other pages of our Protection Warrior guide can be accessed from the table of contents on the right.

About Our Reviewer

This guide has been reviewed and approved by Treckie, one of the best tanks in the world, who raids in Nihilum. You can watch his stream on Twitch and you can follow him on Twitter.

1. Artifact Progression

Artifact Progression

We recommend a single artifact progression path as a Protection Warrior. The aim is to take  Icon Dragon Scales and  Icon Scales of Earth before raiding. Dragon Scales is the main survivability option, but going for Scales of Earth first could be viable if you want to maximise your DPS output for dungeon farming early on.

  1.  Icon Neltharion's Fury
  2.  Icon Strength of the Earth Aspect
  3.  Icon Shatter the Bones
  4.  Icon Intolerance
  5.  Icon Dragon Skin
  6.  Icon Reflective Plating
  7.  Icon Dragon Scales
  8.  Icon Wall of Steel
  9.  Icon Leaping Giants
  10.  Icon Scales of Earth
  11.  Icon Vrykul Shield Training
  12.  Icon Will to Survive
  13.  Icon Rumbling Voice
  14.  Icon Might of the Vrykul
  15.  Icon Toughness
  16.  Icon Rage of the Fallen and  Icon Thunder Crash (in any order)
  17.  Icon Unbreakable Bulwark

If you wish to take  Icon Scales of Earth as your first golden trait, then take  Icon Wall of Steel immediately after taking  Icon Intolerance, and go for Scales of Earth. Afterwards, complete the traits to get  Icon Dragon Scales.

2. Relic Choice

When choosing which relics to use, always take the one that grants you the highest item level, regardless of the benefit it offers. When having to choose between relics that grant the same item level, chose based on the following trait enhancement recommendations.

 Icon Dragon Skin is the best defensive trait you can enhance, followed by  Icon Vrykul Shield Training.

Offensively,  Icon Shatter the Bones is the best trait to buff for single-target damage, while  Icon Thunder Crash and  Icon Rage of the Fallen are best for for AoE DPS.

3. ChangeLog

  • 10 Jan. 2017: Updated the relic recommendations slightly.
  • 29 Aug. 2016: Added.
Force desktop version
Force mobile version