Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  

Asia-Pacific Hearthstone Grandmasters Announced

Recommended Posts


The details of Hearthstone Grandmasters, as well as the 16 Asia-Pacific champions have been announced.

Hearthstone Grandmasters Season 1 begins on May 17 and Blizzard announced the details last week, which I seem to have missed - but it's never too late!

Blizzard will invite 48 players - 16 from Europe, 16 from the Americas and 16 from the Asia-Pacific - to Hearthstone Grandmasters, based on a mix of criteria (points earned, lifetime earnings, community contribution and more). Each region will be randomly separated into two divisions of eight players each. Players in each division will play a double round robin using the best-of-three Specialist format. After all matches are finished, players will be ranked within their own division according to the number of wins they accumulate

The divisions will be unveiled at the HCT 2019 World Championship in Taipei on April 28 before the Grand Finals. There will be two seasons of Hearthstone Grandmasters in 2019, each featuring eight weeks of online matches broadcast live.

The top three players in each division at the end of each season will play in a six-player Grandmasters Seasonal Playoff. The finalist from each region for both 2019 seasons, plus two players from the China Gold Series—a total of eight players—will compete in the Hearthstone Global Finals at the end of the year for a $500,000 prize pool. Following the conclusion of Season 2 of Hearthstone Grandmasters, each player who finished last in their respective division will be at risk of relegation.

The 16 Grandmasters from the Asia-Pacific regions were announced today. Here they are:

  • Ng “Blitzchung” Wai Chung (Hong Kong)
  • Wu "BloodTrail" Zong-Chang (Taiwan)
  • Kim “che0nsu” Cheon Su (South Korea)
  • Jang “Dawn” Hyun Jae (South Korea)
  • Cho "Flurry" Hyun Soo (South Korea)
  • Dylan "FroStee" O’Mallon (Australia)
  • Kenta "glory" Sato (Japan)
  • Yashima “Alutemu” Nozomi (Japan)
  • Pathra “Pathra” Cadness (New Zealand)
  • Dasol “Ryvius” Sim (South Korea)
  • Tsao “SamuelTsao” Tsu Lin (Taiwan)
  • Liu “Shaxy” Wei-Chieh (Taiwan)
  • Euneil “Staz” Javiñas (Philippines)
  • Kim "Surrender" Jung-soo (South Korea)
  • Chen "tom60229" Wei Lin (Taiwan)
  • Tyler "Tyler" Hoang Nguyen (Vietnam)

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

  • Create New...