FORUMS
Sign in to follow this  
Azrogol

Choices at my Ilvl

http://us.battle.net/wow/en/character/illidan/Gottlos/advanced (ignore roiling blood, I just switched from Unholy)

So since I started playing again on Monday after a year and a half hiatus, I jumped from 473 to 514 Ilvl, and I've been switching back and forth between Frost and Unholy to see what I should stick with. I can actually manage to pull okay numbers on AoE on both specs, surprisingly, with Unholy slightly ahead; but single target, both kinda seem to suck, mostly (I'm guessing) because of my SHITTY WEAPON + other lower ilvl gear. Is there a a spec you would take over the other at this point?

All DK dps specs are close enough right now that you can pretty much just play whatever you're comfortable with. You should be able to do about 100k dps single target with your ilvl in any spec.

Perfect. That's so reassuring. I ran SimCraft (i didn't tweak anything so it could've been wrong) and said I should be pulling 139k single target, iirc, and I do ~120k or so. I'm guessing there's really nothing else I can do until I get more gear?

Gear is definitely going to be the biggest thing holding you back right now. Your ilvl is low, but 120k dps is better than plenty of dps I've run flex with in the past. Unfortunately though, a lot of people won't even give you a chance unless you're like 535+ ilvl.