Warning It appears that you may be blocking the ads, and we are fine with it (read more here). That said, it would really be awesome if you decided to whitelist our website or make a donation :) You can also send us Bitcoins (1DEkropiHPWBmfJxogFaXQscfzhmdpTti4)!

Unholy Death Knight DPS Artifact Talents/Traits and Relics (Legion 7.1.5)

Last updated on Jan 10, 2017 at 17:55 by Vlad 344 comments

Table of Contents

General Information

This page shows you how to level up the Artifact and how to choose the right Relics for your Unholy Death Knights. It is updated for World of Warcraft Legion 7.1.5.

The other pages of our Unholy Death Knight guide can be accessed from the table of contents on the right.

About Our Reviewer

This guide has been reviewed and approved by Magnuss, a top Unholy Death Knight who raids in Occasional Excellence.

1. Artifact Progression

Artifact Progression

The artifact progression path for Unholy Death Knights is straightforward.

  1.  Icon Apocalypse
  2.  Icon Feast of Souls
  3.  Icon Eternal Agony
  4.  Icon The Darkest Crusade
  5.  Icon Portal to the Underworld
  6.  Icon Scourge of Worlds
  7.  Icon Scourge the Unbeliever
  8.  Icon Unholy Endurance
  9.  Icon The Shambler
  10.  Icon Armies of the Damned
  11.  Icon Plaguebearer and  Icon Rotten Touch (in any order)
  12.  Icon Deadly Durability
  13.  Icon Double Doom
  14.  Icon Deadliest Coil
  15.  Icon Runic Tattoos
  16.  Icon Gravitational Pull
  17.  Icon Fleshsearer

2. Relic Choice

When choosing which relics to use, always take the one that grants you the highest item level, regardless of the benefit it offers. When having to choose between relics that grant the same item level, chose based on the following trait enhancement priority.

For maximising DPS:

  1.  Icon The Darkest Crusade
  2.  Icon Rotten Touch
  3.  Icon Plaguebearer
  4.  Icon Eternal Agony
  5.  Icon Scourge the Unbeliever
  6.  Icon Runic Tattoos (once you have at least 1 point in the trait)

For defensive relics, you should choose ones that enhance  Icon Unholy Endurance for any type of AoE damage.

3. ChangeLog

  • 10 Jan. 2017: Made a small tweak to the relic priority.
  • 12 Dec. 2016: Changed the relic choice priority slightly.
  • 16 Oct. 2016: Added a note about how The Instructor's Fourth Lesson legendary bracers affect relic choice.
  • 29 Aug. 2016: Added.
Force desktop version
Force mobile version