Frost Death Knight Leveling Guide From 55 to 80 for WotLK Classic

Last updated on Aug 27, 2022 at 10:30 by Sellin 3 comments

On this page, you will find our Level by Level Frost Death Knight leveling guide for WoW Wrath of the Lich King Classic.

For more general leveling information, please refer to our Death Knight leveling guide. We also have an Unholy Death Knight leveling guide and a Blood Death Knight leveling guide.


Level by Level Rotation, Talents, and Trainer Skills

Move the slider below to make the guide update to your level!

Level: 70

Leveling Talent Tree & Build

Unlike other classes Death Knights start at level 55 so they have a considerable amount of talent points unlocked as soon as you create your character and progress through the Death Knight starting area. While you gain the points much faster than other classes it is important to have an idea of how you should spend them to avoid having to respec to take an important talent you may have missed because of how quickly you acquired the points.

  1. — 3 points in Improved Icy Touch IconImproved Icy Touch
  2. — 2 points in Runic Power Mastery IconRunic Power Mastery
  3. — 3 points in Nerves of Cold Steel IconNerves of Cold Steel
  4. — 2 points in Black Ice IconBlack Ice
  5. — 3 points in Annihilation IconAnnihilation
  6. — 2 points in Black Ice IconBlack Ice
  7. — 2 points in Endless Winter IconEndless Winter
  8. — 1 point in Black Ice IconBlack Ice
  9. — 5 points in Icy Talons IconIcy Talons
  10. — 5 points in Killing Machine IconKilling Machine
  11. — 3 points in Rime IconRime
  12. — 1 point in Improved Icy Talons IconImproved Icy Talons
  13. — 3 points in Glacier Rot IconGlacier Rot
  14. — 3 points in Threat of Thassarian IconThreat of Thassarian
  15. — 1 point in Unbreakable Armor IconUnbreakable Armor
  16. — 1 point in Hungering Cold IconHungering Cold
  17. — 1 point in Frost Strike IconFrost Strike
  18. — 3 points in Guile of Gorefiend IconGuile of Gorefiend
  19. — 3 points in Chilblains IconChilblains
  20. — 1 point in Lichborne IconLichborne
  21. — 2 points in Merciless Combat IconMerciless Combat
  22. — 1 point in Frost Strike IconFrost Strike

The talents you have taken so far are mostly passive damage increases to dual-wielding or procs that will make the spells you already have much more powerful as well as some like Annihilation IconAnnihilation that will completely change your rotation as you will no longer need to refresh diseases after casting Obliterate IconObliterate which is your primary spender of Frost and Unholy runes. Chilblains IconChilblains will allow you to kite almost indefinitely as the massive slow will allow you time for cooldowns or just to stay at range against an enemy may not have been able to kill if you had to constantly stay in melee range of it. Frost Strike IconFrost Strike will act as your primary spender of Runic Power and almost entirely replaces Death Coil IconDeath Coil. Death Coil IconDeath Coil can be used with Lichborne IconLichborne to heal yourself, but should not be used to deal damage unless you have no way of reaching your target. Unbreakable Armor IconUnbreakable Armor acts as both a huge personal defensive and offensive cooldown, greatly increasing your survivability against Physical damage while also increasing your Strength, giving you more Attack Power and Critical strike rating.

  1. Level 60 — 1 point in Howling Blast IconHowling Blast
  2. Level 61 to 65 — 5 points in Tundra Stalker IconTundra Stalker
  3. Level 66 to 67 — 2 points in Butchery IconButchery
  4. Level 68 to 69 — 2 points in Blade Barrier IconBlade Barrier

Howling Blast IconHowling Blast will become a massive part of your rotation when fighting more than one mob and will be used in single-target with Rime IconRime procs. Tundra Stalker IconTundra Stalker will allow you to deal even more damage and make the added Expertise increase the power of dual-wielding. Butchery IconButchery continues to incentivize high uptime by granting you Runic Power every time you kill an enemy and for time spent in combat.

  1. Level 70 — 1 point in Blade Barrier IconBlade Barrier
  2. Level 71 to 75 — 5 points in Bladed Armor IconBladed Armor/
  3. Level 76 to 78 — 3 points in Death Rune Mastery IconDeath Rune Mastery
  4. Level 77 to 80 — 2 points in Icy Reach IconIcy Reach

Finishing out the leveling tree you will pick up Bladed Armor IconBladed Armor which is a nice personal DPS increase as well as grabbing Death Rune Mastery IconDeath Rune Mastery which will allow you a bit more freedom with your runes.


Leveling Rotation

  1. Apply and maintain diseases using Icy Touch IconIcy Touch and Plague Strike IconPlague Strike
  2. Use Pestilence IconPestilence to spread your diseases in any situation you are fighting more than one target.
  3. Use Blood Strike IconBlood Strike as your primary spender of Blood Runes against up to two targets, when fighting more than two targets you should be using Blood Boil IconBlood Boil as your primary spender of Blood runes.
  4. Use Obliterate IconObliterate as your primary spender of Frost and Unholy Runes. Make sure to constantly keep your Runes on cooldown to maximize your ability usage.
  5. cast Howling Blast IconHowling Blast when fighting 2+ mobs or in single-target if you get a Rime IconRime proc.
  6. cast Frost Strike IconFrost Strike as your primary spender of Runic Power.
  7. cast Death and Decay IconDeath and Decay when fighting 3+ mobs and you are confident they will survive most of its duration.
  8. Make sure you are auto-attacking at all times.

List of Trainer Skills to Buy

It is important to buy all abilities as you level as they are cheap and Death Knights have quite a few abilities that are extremely powerful in certain situations; you never know when you will need them.


Frost Death Knight Macros and Addons

Setting up an user interface and macros early on you will greatly improve the quality of your leveling experience. Check out the Frost Death Knight Macros and Addons guides in the links below for the full list.


How to Continue to Improve Your Frost Death Knight at Level 80

Once you achieve Level 80 we suggest you check out Frost Death Knight Guide, which goes more in detail of how to play your Level 80 Frost Death Knight.

Some of the most relevant pages to dive deeper into are:



  • 27 Aug. 2022: Page added.
Show more
Show less