FORUMS
Sign in to follow this  
Abelcain

What is going on with warlocks?

I just started playing the new expansion for the first time since they changed all the cards and stuff. I was looking up decks on a few different websites, and next to the deck lists there was a message that said something like "warlocks are not currently viable in the meta, but these are the best possible cards at the moment" or something.

I'm curious now, because I went from rank 25 to 9 with my hunter deck without ever playing against a warlock, which I thought was strange.

Can anybody fill me in on what happened to warlocks this expansion? Are they actually non-viable, or are the pros still figuring out new card mechanics or something?

Warlock is the worst class by far.

Its quest sucks so bad, without a new expansion and fitting cards, there is no way you can play that quest viably (Is this even a word?) For zoo, quest is slow, and reward is not great, 3/2 imps die to pretty much everything. For control, quest is so underwhelming again.

After Reno Jackson and other important cards in renolock rotated out, and as Kazakus is not enough to define an archetype (maybe in priest, it is), control variants became much weaker. Some players tried to play handlock, with cards like Humongous Razorleaf, such as Trump and StanCifka (this guy loves handlock I guess) and deck seemed to perform badly, so that Humongous Razorleaf started seeing play in priest, not warlock.

Loss of Dark Peddler and Imp Gang Boss affected zoo harshly, especially the IGB was a perfect minion for a zoo deck. And then there was Power Overwhelming, gave some explosive power to zoo. New egg and Ravenous Pterrordax can't fill their role, at least, not in standard